Galway v Cork: Division 2B Round 2

2024 National Camogie League Division 2B – Round 2

Galway v Cork
Date: 3 February 2024, 2pm
Venue: Kinvara
Referee: Shane Foley

FT: Galway 0-9 Cork 1-10

Match Report

1-4 in the final 8 minutes from Cork was crucial to their victory over Galway in the second round of the Division 2B Very Camogie League in a windy Kinvara on Saturday, After a great victory over Kilkenny in the opening round, Galway were without some key players from their opening game.

Galway were playing with the elements in the opening half. It was Cork who got off to the mark the quickest with Cliona Dooley slotting over a point inside the opening minute. Spellman got Galway off the mark on the 3rd and 5th minutes when she pointed two frees. Cliona O Callaghan and and Spellman swapped scores on 11th and 12th minutes to leave Galway one point ahead heading to the midway point of the half. With Galway playing with the strong breeze it was key that they started to build up a lead heading into the break. Katie Donohue, Spellman through a free and Galway captain, Ava Lynskey all added points to Galway’s tally before the end of the half to give them a 0-6 to 0-2 lead heading into the half time break.

Spellman got her fourth free of the day straight from the restart of the second half. O’Callaghan replied with a free two minutes later. Grainne O’Neill extended Galway’s lead a minute later. O’Callaghan with two frees and Emily O’Donohue with a free reduced the deficit to two by the 42nd minute of the half. Chloe Broderick replied extended Galway’s lead to three on the 43rd minute. This was Galway’s final score of the game. There was a nine minute period where both sides struggled to register any score. O’Donohue slotted over a free on the 54th minute. She followed up 30 seconds later with a goal to give Cork the lead for the first time since the 3rd minute. O’Callaghan with a free and a point from play and Edel Sheehan point right at the end of the game meant that Cork ran out 1-10 to 0-9 winners on the day.

While Galway will be disappointed, all is not lost as their hopes of making a league final are still alive. The youthful side have three tough games away to Clare, Tipperary and Wexford remaining in the league. For Galway, they will have to regroup for their trip away to Clare in two weeks time while some of the players will be taking part in the Ashbourne weekend with the various colleges around Ireland next weekend in Bekan.

GALWAY: C Hickey; E Burke, S Lyons, R Kelly; P Finnerty, R McPhilbin, J Daly; Z Rodgers, L Ní Dhonncha; K Donohue (0-1), A Lynskey (0-1), N Spellman (0-5F); A Joyce, C Broderick (0-1), G O’Neill (0-1).
Subs: K Madden for Joyce (23), C Allen for Rodgers (43), C O’Meara for Donoghue (53), A Kelly for O’Neill (53), C Lawless for Spellman (58).
CORK: C Buckley; M de Burca, A Egan, E Flanagan; E Sheehan (0-1), N O’Leary, L Buttimer; G Hannon, E O’Donovan (1-2, 0-2F); C O’Callaghan (0-6, 0-4F), T McCarthy, N O’Regan; F Nelligan, C Dooley (0-1), E O’Donoghue.
Subs: L Doyle for O’Donovan (21), M Ring for Buttimer (h-t), C Morrison for O’Regan (h-t), A O’Sullivan for McCarthy (40), C O’Donoghue for Dooley (62).



  1. Caoimhe Hickey (Davitts)
  2. Ellen Burke (Kilconieron)
  3. Sarah Lyons (Kiltormer)
  4. Réitseal Kelly (Sarsfields)
  5. Pearl Finnerty (Mullagh)
  6. Ria McPhilbin (Liam Mellows)
  7. Joanne Daly (Sarsfields)
  8. Zoe Rodgers (Kinvara)
  9. Léana NicDhonncha (Liam Mellows)
  10. Katie Donohue (Shamrocks)
  11. Ava Lynskey (C) (Ardrahan)
  12. Niamh Spellman (Kilconieron)
  13. Aoibhe Joyce (Salthill Knocknacarra)
  14. Chloe Broderick (Castlegar)
  15. Grainne O’Neill (Pearses)

More Information