History of Galway Camogie

Camogie tradition in Galway

Galway took part in the first All Ireland Senior Camogie Final in 1932 which was played in Galway Sportsground. In the only All Ireland Senior Camogie Final to be played outside of Dublin, with the late Stephen Jordan T.D. of Athenry as referee, Dublin defeated Galway in windy and wet conditions by 3-2 to 0-2. Galway went on to participate in the All Ireland Senior final in 1933, ’37, ’39, ’40, ’46, ’60, ’62 and ’93 without success.

Although University College Galway (UCG) captured eight Inter-Varsity Ashbourne Titles, success had eluded the county until Presentation Convent, Oranmore brought the All Ireland Colleges Title to Connacht for the first time in 1972. Later that year, Galway Junior Camogie team were the first Connacht side to win an All Ireland Title, captained by Nono McHugh and coached by legendary Galway hurler Jimmy Duggan.

In 1977, Galway took the All Ireland Minor Title, and since then Galway teams have captured every National Camogie Title. And in 1996, Galway made the ultimate breakthrough when they captured the All Ireland Senior Championship for the first that the Sean O’Duffy Cup came to the province of Connacht.

That day in 1996 will be cherished for many years. Mullagh’s Imelda Hobbins became the first ever Connacht player to lift the O’Duffy Cup in Croke Park after Galway had defeated Cork by 4-8 to 1-15. Galway scored 3-1 in a seven minute spell in the second half to turn a three point deficit into a six point lead. Among Galway’s stars on that unforgettable day were two goal heroine Denise Gilligan, goalkeeper Louise Curry, Pamela Nevin, Sharon Glynn and Dympna Maher who crowned an outstanding display with a superb 43rd minute goal. These players and others including Olive Costello, Ann and Olivia Broderick, Carmel Hannon, Martina Harkin, Carmel Allen and Gretta Maher were to become household names.

And then after a 17-year wait and five final losses, Galway emerged champions again for the second time in 2013 after defeating Kilkenny 1-9 to 0-7. Ailish O’Reilly’s first half goal put Tony Ward’s team in control with Niamh McGrath and Noreen Coen converting important scores. Top players for Galway included Therese Manton, Sarah Dervan, Heather Cooney, Sinead Cahalan, Lorraine Ryan, McGrath, O’Reilly and Coen. Also  included were great stalwarts like Brenda Hanney and Ann Marie Hayes plus one of Galway’s finest Therese Maher who ended a glorious 17 year career with that elusive medal her talents deserved!

Camogie had been played in Galway since the early 1900s, and UCG won the third Ashbourne Title in 1917. The setting up of Galway County Board in the 1920s set the foundation for greater things and in 1928, Galway participated in the Tailteann Games. Galway was the first county in the province to become actively involved at national level in the growing Camogie Association.

Over the years Galway produced many top class players, with Peg Morris who captained the first Galway team of 1932 becoming a legend of her own time. Peg Lahiffe, Nora Conroy, Una O’Riordan, Della Kearney, Nora O’Connell, Monica Duggan, Celia Mulholland, Bridie Murray, Chris Conway, Frankie Coen-Fox, Kathleen Higgins, Veronica (Ronnie) Heneghan, Emer Walsh, Eileen Naughton, Sheila Tonrey and Kay Quinn were just a small number of players who gave sterling service to Galway teams and never won an All Ireland Medal.

Since then many players have captured numerous All Ireland honours with Galway continuing to dominate at college, club and county level. Galway clubs Oranmore, Athenry, Mullagh and Pearses and Killimor have captured All Ireland senior club honours while Castlegar were crowned All-Ireland Intermediate Club Champions. And at underage level, the under 16 crown was won as recently as 2010, the minors achieved glory in 2010 and 2012, and the intermediates secured the Jack McGrath Cup as recently as 2013.

First All-Ireland Camogie Final

Galway took part in the first All Ireland Camogie Final which was staged in 1932 with ten teams participating. Galway beat Louth in the Semi-final and the final wasn’t played until 29th July 1933 when the first All Ireland Camogie Final followed a Galway v Cork Senior Hurling Challenge at Galway Sportsgrounds. This was the only All Ireland Senior Camogie Final to be staged outside of Dublin.

In windy and wet conditions with the late Stephen Jordon, T.D. as referee Dublin defeated Galway by 3-2 to 0-2 having led at half time by 2-1 to 0-0.


B. Murray (Tech)
K. Hynes (Headford), P. Lahiffe (Kilbeacanty), M. Heneghan (Tuam)
Noral Conroy (Tech)
Una O’Riordan (U.C.G), Peggy Morris (Capt.) (Headford), Della Kearney (Currandrum)
S. Belton (Tech)
Kathleen Walsh (U.C.G), B. O’Beirne (U.C.G), K. Cosgrave (U.C.G)

Subs: Nora O’Connell (Tech); Martha O’Connor (Tuam); L. Kilroy.

Previous All-Ireland Finals involving Galway

1932 Dublin 3-2 Galway 0-2
1933 Dublin 9-2 Galway 4-0
1937 Dublin 9-4 Galway 1-0 (Match report)
1939 Cork 6-1 Galway 1-1 (Team photo)
1940 Cork 4-1 Galway 2-2
1946 Antrim 4-1 Galway 2-3
1960 Dublin 6-2 Galway 2-0
1962 Dublin 5-5 Galway 2-0 (Video report)
1993 Cork 3-15 Galway 2-8
1996 Galway 4-8 Cork 1-15 (Match report)
1997 Cork 0-15 Galway 2-5
1998 Cork 2-13 Galway 0-15
2008 Cork 2-10 Galway 1-8
2010 Wexford 1-12 Galway 1-10
2011 Wexford 2-7 Galway 1-8
2013 Galway 1-9 Kilkenny 0-7 (Match report)
2015 Cork 1-13 Galway 0-9
2019 Galway 3-14 Kilkenny 0-17 (Match report)
2020 Kilkenny 1-14 Galway 1-11 (Match report)
2021 Galway 1-15 Cork 1-12 (Match report)

2004 Galway 1-10 Tipperary 0-04
2006 Cork 2-09 Galway 1-07
2009 Galway 3-10 Cork 1-05 (Match report)
2012 Derry 2-10 Galway 2-09
2013 Galway 0-12 Limerick 0-10
2019 Westmeath 1-11 Galway 1-09 (Match report)
2022 Galway 0-13 Cork 0-11 (Match report)

1972: Galway 3-06 Wexford 2-01 (Match report)
​1979 Galway 4-03 Cork 3-02
1985 Galway 8-07 Armagh 3-07
1988 Galway 3-04 Limerick 1-05

1989 Kildare 3-11 Galway 1-03
1992 Tipperary 6-13 Galway 2-07
1993 Armagh 3-09 Galway 3-09 
1993 Armagh 2-10 Galway 0-06
1994 Galway 2-10 Limerick 1-11
1998 Galway 3-11 Tipperary 2-10
2003 Galway 1-12 Clare 2-05


SENIOR SEMI-FINAL: 1942 Cork 7-2 Galway 2-0 (Match report)

1962 All-Ireland Camogie Final - Galway vs Dublin

Credit: Sheila Tonry.

All-Ireland Camogie Roll of Honour


  1. ​Cork: 28 (last 2018)
  2. Dublin: 26 (last 1984)
  3. Kilkenny: 15 (last 2022)
  4. Wexford 7 (last 2012)
  5. Antrim: 6 (last 1979)
  6. Tipperary: 5 (last 2004)
  7. Galway: 4 (last 2021)
All-Ireland Senior Camogie Total (Won)Year (Won)Total (Runner-up)Year (Runner-up)
Galway 41996, 2013, 2019, 2021161932, 1933, 1937, 1939, 1940, 1946, 1960, 1962, 1993, 1997, 1998, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2015, 2020
All-Ireland Intermediate CamogieTotal (Won)Year (Won)Total (Runner-up)Year (Runner-up)
Galway42022, 2013, 2009, 200432019, 2012, 2006

Galway Camogie History Book

A group in Galway Camogie have formed with the intention of producing a book on the history of the game in the county, at club, school, college and county level. If you have material that might be of use to this research effort, please contact GalwayCamogieHistory@gmail.com or James Lundon at 085-1436727. Alternatively, contact the group via our online contact form. Such material may be as simple as photographs, programmes, minute books, medals, even just stories or folklore associated with the game, championships, and clubs in the county. All material help with the project is similarly solicited. Read more >>