2022 Minor A Championship – Semi Final: Galway v Kilkenny

Galway v Kilkenny: Tesco Minor A All-Ireland Championship Semi Final
Edenderry GAA,  Carrick Rd, Edenderry, Co. Offaly.
Date: 20 Mar 2022, 2pm
Referee: Andy Larkin (Cork)

FINAL SCORE: Galway 0-14, Kilkenny 2-3


By: Sarah Gaughran, PRO Galway Camogie

A strong second half performance from Galway helped in securing their place in the Tesco Ireland Minor A Championship final. Galway, who still had 13 players from last year’s panel that lost out to Kilkenny after extra time last year, got revenge on their counterparts this year and ensured they booked their place in the final against old rivals Cork.

Galway got off the mark the quickest with a Catherine Hanley free in the second minute. Galway looked in trouble when Kilkenny hit the net twice in the space in the 7th and 8th minute with goals from Emma Shortall and Amy Brennan. The game ebbed and flowed for the following 10 minutes. Brennan added another point to the Kilkenny tally to leave them 2-1 to 0-1 ahead coming up to the 20th minute. Play was held up for a few minutes with an injury to Sarsfields sharpshooter Shannon Corcoran. Galway hit Kilkenny hard coming up to the half time break. Hanley got Galway’s first score in 22 minutes when she slotted over a free on the 24th minute. Galway pushed on from this adding 5 further points through Hanley (2 frees), Niamh McInerny, Alannah Fahy and substitute Aoibheann Barry to leave the teams level coming up to half time. Emma Minogue added a point on the 33rd minute of the half to leave it Kilkenny 2-2 Galway 0-7 at half time.

Galway started the second half just like they finished the first half and pushed on to seal the victory. Ciara Hickey delivered a great ball into Fahy and Fahy slotted the ball over the bar to bring the teams level on the 32nd minute. Galway will need to watch their discipline in the final receiving 6 yellow cards throughout the 2nd half, 3 of them coming inside the opening 5 minutes of the first half. Substitute Barry proved vital in this victory scoring 3 points in a row in the 38th, 39th and 40th minutes. Kilkenny Captain, Amy Clifford got Kilkenny’s only score of the second half through a free to leave it Galway 0-11 Kilkenny 2-3 heading into the mid-way point of the half. McInerney, who also had an outstanding game, responded with two fantastic points from play. Galway Captain, Hickey added another point from play for Galway in the 48th minute to leave Galway 5 points ahead. That would be the final score of the game. Galway were reduced to 14 players on 50th minutes after Olwen Rabbitte received a second yellow card. Kilkenny tried hard to reduce Galway’s deficit in the final 10 minutes when they had the numerical advantage, but Galway dug deep to keep Kilkenny scoreless and dig out their victory and a place in the All Ireland Final.

Galway will be delighted to put last years disappointment behind them as they have managed to get one step further this year. Next weekend they will face Cork in the All Ireland final, a team who overcame them in the first round of the championship. Galway should be a much fresher side for this game because a number of their players had to play their All Ireland Schools semi-finals the day before the Cork game, with one of them games going to extra, extra time. For Galway, substitute Aoibheann Barry, Niamh McInerny, Ciara Hickey, Ally Hesnan, Keisha Coleman and Megan Gannon all performed well for Galway. While for Kilkenny, Emma Manogue, Emma Shortall, Amy Clifford and Amy Brennan were some of their standout performers. Galway will look forward to their 3rd and most important game in 3 consecutive weekends next Sunday when they take on Cork in the final. 

Galway Scorers: Catherine Hanley 0-4 (0-4F), Aoibheann Barry 0-4, Niamh McInerney 0-3, Alannah Fahy 0-2, Ciara Hickey 0-1.

Kilkenny Scorers: Emma Shortall 1-1, Amy Brennan 1-0, Emma Manogue 0-1, Amy Clifford 0-1 (0-1F).


1 Laura Freeney 2 Hayley Kenny 3 Jacqueline Glynn 4 Ava Crowe 5 Reitseal Kelly 6 Ally Hesnan 7 Keisha Coleman 8 Megan Gannon 9 Ciara Hickey (C) 10 Niamh McInerney 11 Olwen Rabbitte 17 Aisling Dillion  13 Catherine Hanley 14 Alannah Fahy 15 Shannon Corcoran.
Substitutes: Aoibheann Barry for Corcoran, Tara Maher for Glynn, Aoibhe Carr for Hickey, Orla Mullins for Fahy, Molly Mulryan for Dillion.

1 Ruth Phelan 2 Nathania Jackson 3 Moya O’Brien 4 Laoise Nolan 5 Katie Byrne 6 Emma Manogue 7 Rachel Brennan 8 Claire Dohney 9 Áine Rohan 10 Ellen Gunner 11 Amy Clifford (C) 12 Amy Brennan 21 Emma Shortall 14 Sofia Kerr 15 Emma Mulhall.
Substitutes: Lauren Ronan for Mulhall, Sarah Hudson for Rohan 


Team: Galway v Kilkenny

MINOR PANEL: 2022 Galway minor camogie panel

Manager: Aaron Fox
Management team: Aaron Fox, Daragh Conneely, Aoife Lynskey, Shane Gohery.
Backroom: John O’Gorman, Leonie Finn, Keith Greally, Aisling Kelly, Richard Concannon, Niamh Toolan, Oisin Mooney, Allan Massey.

FIXTURES: View all 2022 Minor A Championship fixtures