2022 Minor A Championship – Quarter Final: Galway v Wexford

Galway v Wexford: Tesco Minor A All-Ireland Championship Quarter Final
Clane GAA
Date: 13 Mar 2022, 2pm
Referee: Andy Larkin (Cork)

FINAL SCORE: Galway 7-15 (36), Wexford 1-4 (7)

Galway goal scorers: Olwen Rabbitte (1), Catherine Hanley (1), Shannon Corcoran (3), Aoibheann Barry (1), Alannah Fahy (1).

Galway have booked their place in the Minor A All-Ireland Semi Finals on March 20th!

Match report

By Sarah Gaughran, PRO, Galway Camogie

Galway eased passed Wexford this weekend in last weekend Tesco Ireland Minor A Camogie Championship Quarter Final. Galway, who were goal hungry through the game were far too strong for Wexford throughout the whole contest with Wexford often finding it difficult to get Galway’s half back line.

Galway started very quickly out of the blocks when Catherine Hanley slotted over a point in the opening ten seconds. Galway did miss two 45m frees inside the next two minutes after Ray Kelly penalised the Wexford keeper for coming out too far for the puck out. Ciara Butler put the teams level on 5 minutes when she pointed a free for Wexford. Then Galway scored 1-5 without reply between the 5th and the 21st minute. Points from Niamh McInerny (2), Alannah Fahy (2) and 1-1 from Olwen Rabbitte to leave Galway 1-6 to 0-1 ahead. Sarah Doyle did try to keep Wexford in touch when she rounded Jacqueline Glynn and hit a powerful shot into the Galway net. Galway responded with a point from McInerney. Fahy knocked down a miss hit ball by Ciara Hickey and into the path of Hanley and Hanley pulled on the ball and put it into the Galway net with 5 minutes to go to the break. Fahy added another point for Galway while Shannon Corcoran, fresh from winning an All Ireland Club Title with her club Sarsfields last weekend, got her first of three majors on the 28th minute of the game to leave Galway well in front on a score line of Galway 3-8 Wexford 1-1 at half time.

McInerney opened Galway’s accounts 30 seconds into the second half after she received a pass from Hickey while Butler responded with a free 3 minutes later for Wexford. Aisling Dillion, another All Ireland winner with Sarsfields, got Galway’s first score in 15 minutes when she got on the end of a ball that was flicked away from Rabbitte. Hanley and McInerney responded for Galway with two mor points in the 47th and 50th minute. Doyle added a point from a free to Wexford’s tally on the on the 53rd minute. Galway blitzed Wexford in the final minutes. Substitute Aoibheann Barry and Corcoran netted goals in the 54th and 58th minutes and they both added one point each to the Galway tally to leave it Galway 5-13 to 1-3 heading into injury time. Doyle added another free for Wexford in the 60th minute. Fahy and Corcoran netted two more goals for Galway in the space of 30 seconds in the 61st minute and Hanley added a point to Galway’s tally in the 62nd minute to leave it Galway 7-14 Wexford 1-4.

Galway will be extremely happy with their performance at the weekend. While they did put up a massive score line, they will need to capitalise on the points that they missed from close range as they take on old rivals Kilkenny in this weekends Semi final. For Galway, Ally Hesnan, Megan Gannon, Niamh McInerney, Alannah Fahy and Shannon Corcoran all preformed well while for Wexford Karen Tomkins, Sarah Doyle and Cora McGrath all preformed well.


GALWAY: Laura Freeney, Hayley Kenny, Jacqueline Glynn, Ava Crowe, Reitseal Kelly, Ally Hesnan, Keisha Coleman, Megan Gannon, Ciara Hickey, Niamh McInerney, Olwen Rabbitte, Molly Mulryan, Catherine Hanley, Alannah Fahy, Shannon Corcoran.
Substitutes: Tara Maher for Coleman, Aobhie Carr for Hickey, Aoibheann Barry for Rabbitte, Aisling Dillon for Mulryan, Grace Leen for Crowe.

WEXFORD: Kate Butler, Zoe Tobin Cosgrove, Aoibheann Mernagh, Nicola Corrigan, Rebecca Ogilvie, Karen Tomkins, Roisin Hughes, Aoibhe Mac Sweeney, Cora Mc Grath, Orla Redmond, Ciara Butler, Caoimhe Byrne, Sarah Doyle, Robyn O’ Connor.
Substitutes: Martha Kavanagh for Mernagh, Katie Bowe for O’Connor, Amy Tobin Cosgrove for Ciara Butler

Minor team: Galway v Wexford

Galway minor panel

2022 Galway minor camogie panel

MINOR PANEL: 2022 Galway minor camogie panel

Manager: Aaron Fox
Management team: Aaron Fox, Daragh Conneely, Aoife Lynskey, Shane Gohery.
Backroom: John O’Gorman, Leonie Finn, Keith Greally, Aisling Kelly, Richard Concannon, Niamh Toolan, Oisin Mooney, Allan Massey.