2022 Minor A Championship – Final: Galway v Cork

Galway v Cork: Tesco Minor A All-Ireland Championship Final
FBD Semple Stadium, Thurles, Co. Tipperary
Date: 27 Mar 2022, 5pm
Referee: Liz Dempsey (Kilkenny)

FINAL SCORE: Galway 2-07 Cork 2-11


2022 Galway Minor Camogie Team:
Back Row (L-R): 28 Eabha Niland (Clarinbridge), 23 Ellen Burke (Kilconieron), 27 Mia Flannery (Eyrecourt), Caoimhe Higgins (Ardrahan), 14 Alannah Fahy (Carnmore), 28 Clodagh O’Meara (Craughwell) , 1 Laura Freeney (Athenry), 25 Kayla Madden (Athenry), 11 Olwen Rabbitte (Athenry), 8 Megan Gannon (Abbeyknockmoy), 28 Ava Killian (Carnmore), 13 Catherine Hanley (Davitts), 28 Leah Cummins Turloughmore, 4 Ava Crowe (Carnmore), 3 Jacqueline Glynn (Skehana-Melough), 22 Grace Leen (Craughwell), 28 Ava Connolly (Ardrahan), 18 Tara Maher (Abbeyknockmoy), 28 Léana Nic Dhonncha (Liam Mellows), 20 Orla Mullins (St. Thomas’), 28 Katie Scully (Clarinbridge), 28 Caoimhe Hickey (Davitts)
Front Row (L-R): 28 Aoife Collins (Carnomre), 24 Helena Tarpey (Ardrahan), 19 Aoibheann Barry (Kinvara), 10 Niamh McInerney (Shamrocks), 5 Reitseal Kelly (Sarsfields), 9 Ciara Hickey (captain, Davitts), 6 Ally Hesnan (Shamrocks), 2 Hayley Kenny (Davitts), 7 Keisha Coleman (Craughwell), 12 Aisling Dillon (Sarsfields), 17 Molly Mulryan (Ahascragh-Caltra), 28 Aoife Quinn (Cappataggle), 21 Aoibhe Carr (Clarinbridge), 28 Aoife Keane (Salthill-Knocknacarra) and 28 Joanne O’Flaherty (Salthill/Knocknacarra) Photo credit: Inpho


by Sarah Gaughran in Semple Stadium

There was disappointment for our Minor team on Saturday in Semple Stadium in Thurles as they lost out to Cork in the Tesco Ireland Minor A All Ireland Final. The girls worked hard throughout the whole contest, but they were unlucky not to get the rub of the green with goal chances in the second half that could have sealed the deal for the girls.

Galway came started the game strongly, putting pressure on the Cork defence from the outset. Catherine Hanley opened the scoring for Galway on the 4th minute through a free. A miss hit Ciara Hickey free found Alannah Fahy on the 10th minute and Fahy slotted it over the bar. Galway, who were playing with the assistance of the breeze in the opening half, must be credited for their tenacious tackling, hooking and blocking during the opening 15 minutes. Orlaith Cahalane opened Cork’s scoring on the 15th minute through a free while Olwen Rabbitte responded with a point a minute later to leave it Galway 0-3 Cork 0-1 after 16 minutes. Laura Freeney denied Cork a goal chance on the 20th minute and deflected the ball out for a 45. Cahalane hit the resulting free with a low trajectory and the ball ended up straight in the back of the Galway net from the 45. This seemed to knock Galway’s heads as they failed to score for the rest of the half while Fiona Twohig added two more points to Cork’s tally to leave it Cork 1-3 Galway 0-3 at half time.

Galway had it all to do in the second half and they were dealt another blow at the beginning of the half when Ciara Morison blasted the ball passed past Freeney in the Galway net on the 34th minute to leave 6 between the teams. Rabbitte added another point to the Galway tally on the 36th minute while Ana Fahy and Morrison extended Cork’s lead to 7 with 21 minutes remaining. McInerny delivered a long ball into the Cork goalkeeper, Jill Connaughton on the 39th minute. Connaughton made a mistake in front on the goals and Hanley pulled on the ball into the back of the Cork net, keeping Galway’s hopes alive. Cork responded strongly adding two more points to their tally on the 43rd minute through a Cahalane free and a point from Fahy. Galway nearly had a goal chance on the 47th minute but Cahalane denied Hanley, Rabbitte and Aoibheann Barry the opportunity to stick the ball into the back of the net with 3 fantastic saves. Megan Gannon took on the Cork defence on a fantastic solo run a minute later and managed to put the ball in the net for Galway. Hanley, through a free, McInerney and Barry all added points for Galway between the 54th and 56th minute to leave 1 between the teams heading up to the end of the game. Cork finished the strongest with points from Morrison, Cahalane and Eimear Duignan to leave it Cork 2-8 Galway 2-4.

Galway have to be commended for their never say die attitude. When they were hit with a 7 point deficit at one stage, they worked hard to get back into the game in order to come within a point of Cork. On the day, Jacqueline Glynn, Ally Hesnan, Ciara Hickey, Megan Gannon, Olwen Rabbitte, Niamh McInerney, Aoibheann Barry and Catherine Hanley all tried hard for Galway while for Cork Jill Connaughton, Aoife Barrett, Orlaith Cahalane, Ciara Morrision, Orlaith Mullins, Fiona Twohig and Ana Fahy preformed well for the Leesiders.  

Scorers for Galway: C Hanley 1-1, M Gannon 1-0, O Rabbitte 0-2, C Hanley (45), N McInerney, A Fahy, A Barry 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: O Cahalane 1-4 (1-2 45, 0-1 f), C Morrison 1-2, F Twohig 0-3, A Fahy, E Duigan, 0-1 each.  

GALWAY: L Freeney; H Kenny, J Glynn, A Crowe; R Kelly, A Hesnan, K Coleman; M Gannon, C Hickey (c); N Mc Inerney, O Rabbitte, A Dillon; C Hanley, A Fahy, A Barry.

Subs: T Maher for H Kenny (40), M Mulryan for A Fahy (45), O Mullins for A Dillon (49).

CORK: J Connaughton; M De Burca, M Barrett, T Elliot; E Sheehan, A Healy, E Duignan; O Cahalane, A Cashman; C Morrison, M Condon, A Fahy; L Hallihan, O Mullins (c), F Twohig.

Subs: E Crowley for A Fahy (56), C Walsh for L Hallihan (56).



(via Camogie Association)

2022 All-Ireland Minor A Final

Galway v Cork



2022 Galway Minor Camogie Panel

MINOR PANEL: 2022 Galway minor camogie panel

Meet a player: Aisling Dillon, Molly Mulyryan, Catherine Hanley

Manager: Aaron Fox
Management: Backroom team

FIXTURES: View all 2022 Minor A Championship fixtures