2021 National League Division 2 – Galway v Cork

Saturday 29th May 2021.  
Galway v Cork: Littlewoods Ireland Camogie Leagues: Division 2, Round 3.  
Gort GAA, Gort. 
Galway 0-15 Cork 1-8


By Sarah Gaughran Galway PRO.
The Galway Camogie Intermediate team booked their place in the Division 2 Quarter Finals at the weekend. The fixture was a must win game for the Galway girls who are growing in confidence with every game they are playing. Cork came into the game with two wins under their belt while Galway only had one win against Kerry.

Cork, who made 8 changes to the team that was named during the week, started the scoring inside the first minute with a point from Kate Wall inside the opening minute. Cliona O’Callaghan added a point from a free 5 minutes later to leave Cork two points in front. It was the 9th minute before Galway got their first score of the game. Cora Kenny delivered a lovely cross-field ball to Molly Mannion and Mannion popped it over the bar. Galway had a goal chance on the 18th minute when Ava Lynskey was blocked down and Kenny put the re-bound wide. A good delivery from Mahon on the 21st minute found Áine Keane and Keane put the ball over the bar to leave the teams on level terms. Galway went on a bit of a scoring spree with Niamh Niland, Mairead Dillion (2) and Niamh Horan all adding points to Galway’s tally. O’Callaghan ended Galway’s scoring streak when she tapped over a free for Cork. Niland and Keane both added points for Galway before the end of the half to leave it Galway 0-8 Cork 0-3 heading into the break.

Galway started the sharpest again in the second half. Kenny added two points, one from a very tight angle and Horan added a long range free for Galway in the third quarter to leave Galway 8 points ahead heading into the second water break. O’ Callaghan added another free for Galway on the 48th minute. Aoife Hurley won a penalty for Cork as she was pulled down in the square and Finola Neville blasted the ball past Laura Glynn in the Galway net to leave it Galway 0-11 Cork 1-4 heading into the final 10 minutes. Elisha Broadrick and Dillion added points for Galway before Neville struck back with another point for Cork. Horan added another free for Galway while Ali Smith added a free for Cork. Rachel Harty and Kenny swapped points in injury time before Smith added free for Cork to leave it Galway 0-15 Cork 1-8.

Galway will be delighted with the way they have progressed since they started the campaign. They will be delighted to progress to the latter stages of the competition and pleased to get more competitive game time ahead of the championship. Galway will be looking to improve on their goal scoring chances as they had a few goal scoring chances throughout the game but they never capitalised on them. Likewise, they will be hoping to keep their wide count down. Caoimhe Mahon, Racheal Hanniffy and Lisa Casserly all performed well for Galway in defence while upfront Cora Kenny, Niamh Horan and Mairead Dillion worked very hard. Galway are out next weekend again in the quarter final when they will take on Antrim.

Galway Scorers: Cora Kenny 0-3, Niamh Horan 0-3 (0-2F), Mairead Dillion 0-3, Niamh Niland 0-2, Áine Keane 0-2, Molly Mannion 0-1, Elisha Broadrick 0-1.

Galway Team
1 Laura Glynn (Sarsfields)
2 Sarah McCartin (Craughwell)
3 Laura Ward (Sarsfields)
4 Rachael Hanniffy (Oranmore-Maree)
5 Lisa Casserly (Ballinderreen)
6 Caoimhe Mahon (Kinvara)
7 Tegan Canning (Mullagh)
8 Mairead Burke (Eyrecourt)
9 Niamh Horan (Killimor)
10 Molly Mannion (Mountbellew-Moylough)
11 Ava Lynskey (Ardrahan)
12 Áine Keane (St Thomas’)
13 Cora Kenny (Sarsfields)
14 Mairead Dillon (Kilconiern)
15 Niamh Niland (Clarinbridge)
Substitutes: Elisha Broadrick for Keane, Tara Ruttledge for Niland, Chloe Reilly for Ava Lynskey, Kate Screene for McCartin.

Cork Scorers: Finola Neville 1-1 (1-0 Pen), Cliona O’Callaghan 0-3 (0-3F), Ali Smith 0-2 (0-2F), Kate Wall 0-1, Rachel Harty 0-1.

Cork team:

16 Sarah Ahern Ballygarvan
2 Emma Flanagan Aghabullogue
3 Niamh O’Leary Brian Dillons
4 Áine Crowley Kilbrittain/Timoleague
29 Hannah Sexton Kilbrittain/Timoleague
5 Ashling Moloney Courcey Rovers
21 Claire Kingston Ballinascarthy
8 Lauren Callanan Glen Rovers
22 Michelle Murphy Blackrock
12 Moira Barrett Ballinascarthy
26 Jillian O’Leary Sliabh Rua
24 Kate O’Keeffe Millstreet
10 Cliona O’Callaghan Newtownshandrum
27 Kate Wall Kilbrittain/Timoleague
28 Katie Walsh Glen Rovers

Danielle Carroll for O’Leary, Finola Neville for Murphy, Rachel Harty for Sexton, Ali Smith for Walsh, Aoife O’Callaghan for Kingston.