1972 All Ireland Junior Camogie Final: Galway v Wexford

September 17, 1972  
Galway v Wexford: All Ireland Junior Camogie Championship

Croke Park, Dublin
Galway 3-06 Wexford 2-01
Referee: Lil O’Grady (Cork)

In 1972 the Galway Junior team became the first Connacht team to win an All-Ireland title. They were coached by the hurler Jimmy Duggan and captained by Norah (Nono) McHugh. 

Galway: J. Murphy (1-3_. P. Feeney (1-1), J. Kelly (1-1), N. McHugh (0-1)
Weford: B. McCleans (1-0), B. Tobin (1-0), E. Hawkins (0-1).


Galway: Margaret Killeen, Mary Kilkenny, Clare Collins, Kathleen Quinn, Rosemary Divilly, Grace Divilly, Josie Kelly, Catherine Ward, Nono (Norah) McHugh (c), Jane Murphy, Shiela Crowe, Pat Feeney.

Wexford: M. Kelly, M. Boggan, B. Finn, G. Kehoe, G. Duggan, M. Darcy, E. Hawkins, B. Murphy, B. Higgins, B. Tobin, BMcCleane, M. Murphy. Subs: S. Redmond for B. Higgins.

1972 All Ireland Champions!
Back row: Frank O’Grady, Mary Kilkenny, Rosemary Divilly, Breege O’Brien, Kathleen Quinn, Clare Collins, Catherine Ward, Mary Kate Donlon, Pat Feeney, Jimmy Duggan, Fr. Sean Higgins.
Front Row: Josie Kelly, Norah (Nono) McHugh & her daughter Jennifer, Jane Murphy, Maura Folan, Sheila Crowe, Helen O’Neill, Margaret Killeen.
Back Row (six): Clare Collins, Pat Feeney, Mary Kate Donlon, Grace Divilly, Mary Kilkenny & Catherine Ward.
Middle Row (seven): Catherine O’Grady (RIP), Nono McHugh (C) with cup, Helen O’Neill & Nono’s daughter Jennifer, Sheila Crowe, Rosemary Divilly, Josie Kelly (RIP), & Margaret Killeen.
Front Row (four): Kathleen Quinn, Jane Murphy, Breege O’Brien & Maura Folan.

Galway Junior Panel

  1. Margaret Killeen (Ballinasloe)
  2. Mary Kilkenny (Ballinasloe)
  3. Clare Collins (Glenamaddy)
  4. Kathleen Quinn (Ballinasloe)
  5. Rosemary Divilly (Oranmore)
  6. Grace Divilly (Oranmore) [not in team picture]
  7. Josie Kelly (Oranmore)
  8. Catherine Ward (Glenamaddy)
  9. Nono (Norah) McHugh C
  10. Jane Murphy (Ballinasloe)
  11. Shiela Crowe (Ballinasloe)
  12. Pat Feeney (Mervue)


Catherine O’Grady (Gurteen) [not in team picture]
Breege O’Brien (Oranmore)
Mary Kate Donlon (Glenamaddy)
Helen O’Neill (Gurteen)
Maura Folan (Mervue)

1972 Senior & Junior All-Ireland Finals Programme
1972 Galway & Wexford Junior teams list
1972 All Ireland Junior medal