Galway v Waterford: Minor A Championship

2024 Electric Ireland Minor A Championship – Round 1

Galway v Waterford
Date: 3 March, 2pm
Venue: Ballygunner GAA Club, X91 R863
Referee: Justin Heffernan

FT: Galway 1-15 Waterford 0-10

Match Report

Galway’s minor camogie team produced a commanding second half performance, outscoring Waterford ten points to two, to get their All-Ireland championship campaign off to a successful start at Ballygunner on Sunday.

In near perfect conditions, the sides were level at the interval, 1-5 to 0-8, after Clarinbridge’s Siobhan Carr struck for one of her trademark goals for the visitors midway through the opening period. With Caoimhe Kelly contributing all of Galway’s points, including two exceptional scores from play, it ensured the young Tribeswomen remained in touch with the Munster finalists. Indeed, Waterford, who used their physicality to great effect, proved difficult to break down in the opening half – while, at the other end, they caused the victors some trouble, drawing a brace of fine saves from Galway netminder Emer Gantley.

The benefits of having played in a provincial campaign clearly stood to the Deise, but after 40 minutes of camogie, Galway began to get to the pitch of it as Kelly, with a plethora of scores from frees and play, Emily Lawless and substitute Leah O’Halloran all found the target.

Also credit to the defence, where captain Emily Brogan, Ava Bloomer, Ciara McGrath and Niamh Duffy thundered into the game and, in the closing 20 minutes, they completely shut out a Waterford attack that failed to add to their tally.

So, a positive start for Galway. They now host Munster champions Tipperary, impressive first-round winners over Leinster holders Kilkenny on a 3-10 to 2-7 scoreline, next Sunday in Loughrea.

GALWAY: Emer Gantley (St Colman’s); Aoibhe Donnellan (Craughwell), Emily Brogan (Carnmore), Katie Burke (Kilconieron); Ava Bloomer (Portumna), Ciara McGrath (Sarsfields), Niamh Duffy (Craughwell); Ella Bergin (Kinvara), Mia Rodgers (Kinvara); Leah Murphy (Mountbellew-Moylough), Siobhan Carr (1-0, Clarinbridge), Ellen Birmingham (Kinvara); Sophie Flynn (Kiltormer), Caoimhe Kelly (0-13, 0-10 frees, Sarsfields), Emily Lawless (01, Shamrocks).
Subs used: Leah O’Halloran (0-1, Shamrocks); Leah Behan (Davitts); Caoimhe Callaghan (Castlegar); Ruth Lohan (Portumna); Therese Marie Murray (Pearses).