Connacht Camogie Final – Rose Nixon Cup

JUNIOR B: Rose Nixon Final

Portumna (Galway) V Westport (Mayo)
Venue: Killimor
Date: 12 Nov, 2pm
Referee: Tom Killion

FT: Portumna 0-15 Westport 1-6

Player of the match: Ava Bloomer, Portumna

Portumna – 2022 Rose Nixon Connacht Champions

Match Report

Portumna were crowned Rose Nixon cup champions on Saturday when they overcame Westport from Mayo in Killimor. This young Portumna team who were without sharpshooter Tara Ruttledge laid down their marker in the first half and this paved the way for their victory. 11 unanswered points in the opening 29 minutes proved pivotal in Portumna’s victory with the points coming from Grainne Hardiman (0-2), Ruth Lohan (0-7), Sienna Fahy (0-1) and player of the match Ava Bloomer (0-1). Credit must go to the Portumna backs during this period as they managed to hold Westport scoreless until the 31st minute when Lisa Scahill registered Westport’s first score of the game. The accuracy of Portumna’s youthful forwards and the strong defensive system in their backs must be complimented as Portumna went in 0-11 to 0-1 ahead, heading into the half time break.

Fionnuala McLaughlin and Lohan exchanged scores in the opening 9 minutes of the 2 nd half. Sachill reduced the deficit with 3 unanswered points for Westport between the 40 th and 44 th minutes and it looked like Westport were going to push. But, points from Bloomer and Lohan ensured that Portumna maintained a 9 point lead with 8 minutes remaining in the half. Westport did try to challenge Portumna in the final few minutes with another point from Scahill and a well taken goal by Eimear Geraghty but Lohan added another point to her tally for Portumna in the 60 th minute to leave it Portumna 0-15 Westport 1-6.

Portumna will be delighted to have finished the year on a high. After a slow start in the league, Portumna have gone from strength to strength. While their season has come to an end for 2022, they can now look forward to playing Junior A camogie in 2023.

Portumna Junior B team:
Back row L:R Hannah Killeen, Maeve Moran, Katie Burke, Niamh Costello (VC), Alannah Kelly, Sienna Fahy, Tara Harte, Michelle Scott, Maria Scott,  Treacy Scott, Ava Bloomer, Ciara Kenny, Grace Kelly, Emma Ruttledge. 
Front Row L:R Fiona Lohan, Christine Hickey, Lindsay McClearn, Grainne Hardiman, Ashlynn Fahy(JC), Ruth Lohan, Tara Ruttledge, Petra Killeen, Aoife Murray, Courtney Duane. 

Additional match reports:

  • Final glory for Galway teams in provincial deciders – Connacht Tribune (Print edition)