2020 County Senior Camogie Final: Sarsfields v Ardrahan

Saturday 3 October 2020.  
Sarsfields v Ardrahan: Lough Rea Hotel & Spa Senior Camogie Championship.  
Gort GAA, Galway. 
Sarsfields 1-10 Ardrahan 1-07. 

View match photos

GalwayBayFM: Sarsfields hold off Ardrahan to retain Senior Camogie title
Sarsfields retained their Galway senior camogie title in Gort this afternoon after withstanding a strong second half comeback from Ardrahan. Sarsfields led at half time by 1-7 to 1-0, with the goal coming in the 27th minute from Cora Kenny to add to points from Siobhan McGrath (0-3), Orla McGrath (0-2) and Niamh McGrath (0-2). Ardrahan’s only score in the opening half was a goal from a sideline cut by Rebecca Hennelly, but they came right back at Sarsfields in the second half with points from Denise Diviney, Ava Lynskey and Hennelly (0-5), closing the gap to two points at one stage. Sarsfields just about maintained the upper hand and points from Sarah Spellman, Siobhan McGrath and Niamh McGrath saw the champions claim their 4th Galway senior championship title (2016, ’17, ’19. ’20).

Read more:


Sarsfields came into this game as defending All Ireland and County Champions from 2019. They overcame Ardrahan in the first round of the championship, after extra time and beat Mullagh in their second group game to top their group and progress straight into the semi-finals. Here they overcame Athenry to set up a repeat of the 2018 County Final.

Prior to this final, Ardrahan last played in the county final in 2018 where they overcame Sarsfields. They lost out to the same opposition in the first round of the championship this year while they overcame Mullagh in the last of the group games. They went on to have victories over Eyrecourt and Oranmore-Maree in the quarter and semi finals to book their place in the 2020 County Final.

MATCH PHOTOS: Courtesy of Don Soules Photography


SARSFIELDS: Laura Glynn, Sinead Cannon, Laura Ward (VC), Kate Gallagher, Tara Kenny, Maria Cooney, Joanne Daly, Clodagh McGrath, Niamh McGrath (C), Cora Kenny, Orlaith McGrath, Aoibhe Deeley, Shannon Corcoran, Rachel Murray.
Yvonne Lyons, Erica Leslie, Sarah Spellman, Sheena Warde, Cliona Cahalan, Klara Donoghue, Rachel Murphy, Ciara Ward, Aisling Dillon, Ciara Kyne, Reitseal Kelly, Jasmine Scully, Elysia Cox, Caoimhe Donoghye, Sarah Gallagher, Melissa McDonnell, Denise Gormally.

ARDRAHAN: Clare Higgins, Aine Murphy, Shauna Healy, Marguerite Howley, Megan Carr, Siobhan Gardiner, Sarah Keehan, Andrea Mullins (C), Denise Diviney, Rebecca Hennelly, Ava Lynskey (VC), Dearbhaile Walshe, Brenda Kerins, Cliodhna Walsh, Chloe Cunningham
Chloe Glynn, Olivia Keehan, Caoimhe Cahill, Sarah Slevin, Alannah Glynn, Aoife Lynskey, Nicola Glynn, Caoimhe Lunskey, Elaine Dolphin, Katie Hunt, Alisha Quinn, Saoirse Burke, Ava connolly, Elaine Kennedy, Eadaoin Gardiner, Chloe Fahey, Robyn Healy, Anna Howley, Caoimhe Higgins, Lauren Tarpey, Tara Scully, Aoife Murphy, Abbie Collanan, Orlath Murphy.


Team Management: Michael McGrath, John Noone, Olive Costello & Kevin Ward.
Physio & First Aid: Mary Coyle & Anne Donoghue
Hurley Carriers: Ciara & Laoise McGrath
COVID Supervisor: Sinead Murray
Officers: Brian Gallagher, Ciara Ward & Collette Gormally

Manager: Michael Helebert
Physio & First Aid: Patrick Healy
Selectors: Tosh Brennan, Ciara Healy, Lynda Mullins, Cian Walsh
Coach: Michael Helebert